Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Employers and busy students?
Would employers think negatively about someone who already has a Bachelors (and Assoc) and is working on 2 more degrees at once? Masters and 2nd Bachelors, or 2 Masters. Is it better to hide the 2nd in-progress degree?

I feel they would ask too many questions and think I was too busy/distracted. If both are part-time, they might also think that I'll take a long time to finish. 

In my case, the bachelors in-progress would be in the same field (Comp Sci). I believe having the partly-done degree is better than nothing, although others said they wouldn't consider it as a recruiter. I don't know if I can land the job unless I mention that I'm a CS student.

Doesn't it look slightly good to have a Masters in progress?

I don't know why they would it would be a negative. In general, busy people make good workers in my book, so I would list all the degrees you're working on.. As far as considering your in progress CS degree, it's done all the time for intern level positions.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)
TECEP:Env Ethics (2015); TESU PLA:Software Eng, Computer Arch, C++, Advanced C++, Data Struct (2015); TESU Courses:Capstone, Database Mngmnt Sys, Op Sys, Artificial Intel, Discrete Math, Intro to Portfolio Dev, Intro PLA (2014-16); DSST:Anthro, Pers Fin, Astronomy (2014); CLEP:Intro to Soc (2014); Saylor.org:Intro to Computers (2014); CC: 69 units (1980-88)

PLA Tips Thread - TESU: What is in a Portfolio?
[-] The following 1 user Likes davewill's post:
  • Ideas
If you're enrolled, put it on your resume as in progress. If you're DIYing on your own and haven't applied/enrolled yet, leave it off.