Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
? about Education Master degrees
I would like some assistance with the two degree options I am looking at for a Master’s in Education/Teaching.

I am a semester away from completing my B.A. in English and I am looking to get certification to teach High School English and Earth Science in either Michigan or Florida.
My major is English so I have completed the required amount of major credits for teaching that subject according to the MI DOE. I still am finishing up the additional credits I need for Earth Science. I would like to start the program in Summer 2009.

I have located two programs that would provide me with certification to teach Secondary Ed as well as a Master’s degree.
One: U. of Michigan Dearborn- local school, nights and weekends, leads to an M.A. in Teaching degree and includes a semester of student teaching. It’s endorsed by the MDOE as one of the best teaching schools in the state and has a good reputation here for academic rigor (although the Engineering programs are what it’s primarily known for). Down side is cost- best I can figure (because UMD has a complicated way of doing tuition and their website is no help) it’s about $16,000 + books for me to finish the MAT/cert. Time to complete: about 18 months or so, puts me past hiring cycle for 2010 school year so would be looking at 2011 school year.

Two: U of West Florida- completely online, offers a TeacherReady cert program first, you can use some of those credits toward their M.Ed. programs. Would provide certification and instruction, as well as has a student teaching component. Cost (since I would be eligible for the online only out of state tuition waiver) would roughly be $10,600 + books, plus driving to Florida 2x to take their cert. tests. Plus side: Can finish the UWF cert program (9 mos. Program) in time for hiring cycle for 2010 school year, then work on Master’s while making money.