Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Will online degrees become worthless because of AI?
I'm a student a U of the people, and I've seen a heavy use of AI generated content  It's so blatant that it's honestly becoming both frightening and depressing.
If you look at the uopeople subreddit, you'll see that even instructors use AI to respond to discussion forums and even grade students. So basically, bots are doing assignments, and bots respond to them and grade them, in the end it feel as if it's the bot that is going to graduate.

Is this prevalent in other online universities or are we just the worse of the bunch? will online degrees become worthless? is there no solution for that?
(04-16-2024, 05:34 PM)blablablox Wrote: I'm a student a U of the people, and I've seen a heavy use of AI generated content  It's so blatant that it's honestly becoming both frightening and depressing.
If you look at the uopeople subreddit, you'll see that even instructors use AI  to respond to discussion forums and even grade students. So basically, bots are doing assignments, and bots respond to them and grade them, in the end it feel as if it's the bot that is going to graduate.

Is this prevalent in other online universities or are we just the worse of the bunch? will online degrees become worthless? is there no solution for that?

Quite a few of the colleges we recommend, you can't tell if they were done online or on-campus.

For a lot of employers, a degree is sort of a checkbox. 

In the end, you need the skills to do the job, so if you take shortcuts, you are cheating yourself down the road.
Degrees: BA Computer Science, BS Business Administration with a concentration in CIS, AS Natural Science & Math, TESU. 4.0 GPA 2022.
Course Experience:  CLEP, Instantcert, Sophia.org, Study.com, Straighterline.com, Onlinedegree.org, Saylor.org, Csmlearn.com, and TEL Learning.
Certifications: W3Schools PHP, Google IT Support, Google Digital Marketing, Google Project Management