Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What are people's reasons for taking Masters in Education
Hi.  I imagine most are teachers or homeschooling - just wondering what other reasons this degree would be helpful.  For example, I'd love to teach someday (small group, corporate or college level).  However, most of the education programs have a lot of K-12 stuff I'm not interested in.  I really like psychology, theology and philosophy - seems a powerful combination.
I am just about to start my 19th year as a teacher. I've taught high school, middle school, one year within an elementary school and I was a preschool teacher for a year or two at the start. There is a strong economic incentive for a teacher to earn a master's degree. Normally, it shifts a teacher into another pay column. I completed an MAT through Marygrove College in Detroit. It was very convenient and relatively cheap. It was a distance program before the internet really took hold, so I watched a lot of VHS tapes, wrote a lot of papers and then created a big binder full of work for a final portfolio. Teachers also need to earn a certain number of credits or PD hours to renew certification, so this kind of program is better than just doing a bunch of random credits.

One benefit is that once you have a master's degree, you can conceivably teach at the community college level with 18 graduate credits within a discipline. So there is some utility in it, although there are many more lucrative graduate degrees.
[-] The following 2 users Like eriehiker's post:
  • jb111, Life Long Learning
(09-01-2017, 12:59 PM)jb111 Wrote: Hi.  I imagine most are teachers or homeschooling - just wondering what other reasons this degree would be helpful.  For example, I'd love to teach someday (small group, corporate or college level).  However, most of the education programs have a lot of K-12 stuff I'm not interested in.  I really like psychology, theology and philosophy - seems a powerful combination.