Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PhD program requirement conundrum - Publication route
Hi all, I am a doctorate student in a rather specialized program. I will not mention the topic, as it's very unique, and I don't want to badmouth the university, but I'm wondering if anyone has run into this unique situation.

This school provides the option of either a dissertation or publication route, with the publication option having required acceptance of three research articles into peer-reviewed journals approved by one's chair. Over the past two years, I have only been able to afford two of the 10 required courses, thanks to career/family financial struggles, but have kept working with my doctoral chair intermittently and managed to have three articles accepted into peer-reviewed journals approved by my chair. Fast forward almost three months later, and I am about to present this research orally for the second time at an upcoming conference, yet cannot get in touch with my chair, and had both the former doctoral dean and graduate advisor also stop communicating even when I offered to pay off the required remaining eight courses (these courses have no content aside from working toward the final deliverables).

Since then, the new doctoral dean also seems to have vanished in communication, and I checked back to find that the publication requirement specification on their website no longer goes into detail about articles or journals - only one mention of "dissertation/publication". So in a nutshell, I am not particularly wanting to pay $48k for courses that - aside from the defense course - are virtually moot, now that the articles have already been accepted. Above all, I definitely don't want to pay that amount without a guaranteed pass at this point.

Has anyone else encountered a similar issue, and if so, how did you handle it? Thanks in advance!