Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Checking the box - TAMUC or UMPI
Looking for options going forward and was requested that I start this new thread. I'm 52 with zero credits behind me and wanting to "check the box" - both for my secular work and, likely, continued online theological training in a particular seminary. They don't care what my bachelor's is in.

I'm new to this and I'm just learning my way around the terminology and basics, so please bear with me! I first discovered in browsing the forum that UMPI was recommended for someone in my position but was then told about TAMUC. If I'm understanding what I'm seeing, both look like viable options, although I am suddenly drawn to TAMUC since I learned about it. Call it a Texas pride thing.  Wink

But what matters most right now is getting done as quickly as possible. What are some practical considerations and comparisons? It looks like Sophia is accepted at both schools? Do I just start by signing up on Sophia and start knocking out courses ASAP? 

Your Location: Texas
Your Age: 52
What kind of degree do you want?: Checking the box - probably business related
Current Regional Accredited Credits: None
Current ACE, CLEP, or NCCRS Credits: None
Any certifications or military experience? No
Budget: Not a concern, but don't want to waste money or time
Commitments: FT job with OT, family and church commitments
Dedicated time to study: I get up early - a couple of hours every morning on work days, more on days off.
Timeline: ASAP
Tuition assistance/reimbursement: No
[-] The following 1 user Likes westex93's post:
  • ltw900rr
Hello,

My wife pursued her degree for the same reason, and she started 1 semester after I did at TAMUC.

https://degreeforum.miraheze.org/wiki/Sa...egree_Plan

https://degreeforum.miraheze.org/wiki/So...lency_List

https://www.tamuc.edu/programs/organizat...baas-orgl/