Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
So I'm new here, and ready to give it another shot
Hi everyone,

A little background on my situation: I was always a great high school student, and always thought college would be easy for me. I self taught myself how code in 7 different programming languages at the age of 15 and was able to get high paying jobs at a very young age. After starting college (while working), I quickly started to do bad in classes, especially with the general education classes which seemed easy but not worth my time when I could be home making money or teaching myself the skills to earn even more. Anyways long story short, i dropped out at 20 years old. Since then I still hold a good job and it has never been a problem for me to get jobs as i have needed them, my experience has always helped me quite a bit (i have been programming since 15, now 22). But I know that with a degree in my hand, I could achieve a lot more.

I have started to realize that if I want to demand more money for my skills, i need to have a degree. It is something that I know would make me more confident in pursuing raises or even other offers. I know mostly everything i'll ever need to know when it comes to Computer Science, but I don't have the degree to say so. This is something that has always bothered me and i want to change it. I turn 22 in 5 days, and i think it's time that I give this another shot and get it done once and for all.

I have read quite a bit on this forum, I have read the wiki (Degree Forum Wiki), I plan on subscribing to InstantCert, and start taking my CLEPs. I just wanted some advice on a couple of different things.