Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
WGU best option for me?
quick background: I have looked into WGU and went through the interview process. I am in my late 30s and have only attended 2 semester in a community college (long story but no way to get transcripts). I am a professional with 15+years in IT admin/support/management type roles. Several certifications over 5yrs old, MCP, Security+.....looking to get into more of management in the IT world at this point in my career, and eventually an MBA. My job allows for lots of time to do school work, and even though we have 6 kids, will have plenty of time to pursue a degree. My kids are close to finishing high school, and I want to beat them to college and show them that it is important to get an education.

The IT degrees at WGU do not entice me as many of the certifications would do nothing for me. I am leaning more towards the Management-IT degree due to this, plus the skills in the management area would come in handy.
I was informed that I would need either to a) renew or get a new IT certification or, b) show 12hrs of college course work.
Not wanting to renew or take a certification, I went the straighterline route and have completed the following...... ENG Comp 1, Org Behavior, Principles Of Mgmt, Business Ethics,Business Law, Cult Anthropology, Intro to Religions, Micro and Macro Economics.
Up next at straighterline are, Biology and lab, Chemistry and lab, Comp 2, College Algebra, Managerial Accounting and business stats

Are there any other options besides WGU that would fulfill the following....
1) regionally accredited
2) allow me to pursue an MBA at a big name school possibly
If your goal is an MBA, I would recommend TESC's BSBA Computer Information Systems.

Check my signature for the link to thread: Pay Per Credit Tuition Plan and a tuition cost comparison spreadsheet.