Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pushing graduation date back...
Would you push your graduation date back by two months just to be able to walk across the stage? I was supposed to graduate this semester but due to last minute emergencies, I was not able to make the long trip to my school to participate in the commencement ceremony. I've been in school off and on for the past 8 years and finally completing my degree is a big accomplishment to me. For the past year I have really been working hard to finish this spring. On top of the 18 hours I was taking through my school, I completed 15 hours in DSST tests and a UExcel exam in less than a month. My school only holds one commencement ceremony in the Spring for all graduates. When I contacted my advisor, she informed me that I would not be eligible to participate in next year's ceremony. Although I've technically fulfilled all degree requirements, I'm seriously contemplating pushing back my graduation until July. I don't have any plans to attend grad school so it's not like I have the completion of a higher degree to look forward to. I just don't know what to do. I thought about writing the dean pleading my case but that's not a guarantee. Would I regret this for the rest of my life? Sad
Ultimately, you are the only person who can answer your question. Walking across the stage does not make you a college graduate. Finishing the courses and receiving your diploma make you a college graduate. If it were me, I would finish, get my diploma, and pose for some nice pictures to post on Facebook. I plan to forego my graduation ceremony just because I am too cheap to spring for airline tickets and hotel costs. I would rather spend that money on a nice weekend with my wife.