Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need Help with Deciding on an Online Accounting Masters Program
I am undecided and I hope someone can bring me some clarity. I am a resident of New Jersey. First I am trying to get accepted into either UConn, Stetson University, or Rider University for their online Masters Degree in Accounting. I don't know what my chances are with a BSBA degree with a concentration in accounting from Thomas Edison State University. I don't have the Bachelor's degree, but I am close to finishing. I took a lot of clep and a few dsst exams so I am not sure how these top schools would view that.

Secondly, my decision, if I get accepted that is, is to choose from a university whose online program is rated #2 in the US by US News and World Report, University of Connecticut. Also in that report, Stetson University is rated # 29. Stetson University is in Florida. My other choice is Rider University which is in New Jersey.

I like the program from Uconn because it seems to have a good selection of classes which you can kind of design your degree with up to 7 electives (I believe). It is highly regarded (it has to be if it's #2 in the US News report). The tuition is about $25,000 for the degree. This program can be completed in under a year.

I like the program from Stetson University in Florida because it allows you to take a single class at a time (semester is 5 weeks). I like the concept of taking one course at a time and being able to finish the program in less than a year's time. The total cost for the program is $27,000.

I like Rider University's program because it is in my home state (NJ). Their website claims they have many connections with top accounting firms and Fortune 500 companies. This program can be completed in 16 months. The cost is $30,000 for the degree. This is the costliest program and takes the longest to complete.

All 3 schools are AACSB accredited, which is the highest accreditation for a Business school.