Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My degree situation - Looking for advice and suggestions
Good Evening,

I came across your forum while browsing the net. There is a lot of great information here and I hope to contribute after I figure out some things, but i need some guidance.

I am a military veteran who has managed to achieve good things based on experience. Like many of you, I have came to a point in my career where the degree is a checkbox on the promotion scorecard. I'm trying to find the school who will give me the most credit for what I have already done.

I work in a homeland security/IT type roll. Here are my questions and the circumstances that I hope you can help with. I have read many of the postings here and the information and programs seem like they change quite a bit so I am confused.

Who allows the most transfer credits for my situation below?

-I have a combination of military schooling/CLEP/DANTES and private training/certifications.

-I have read a bunch of posts in regards to FEMA credits. I have completed multiple courses from them due to my job function. What is the current situation on these?

-I hold IT certifications and have also completed govt. civilian industry type training. Does anyone know if these earn credit? I remember seeing a few courses labeled as ACE certified.

Thank you very much
Hello. You should list all of your courses that you have taken and the type of degree that you are seeking so the members can give you some different idea's of how to accomplish your goal.
Associate in Arts - University of the State of New York / 1989
Undergraduate certificate in marketing, Ashworth College.

BSLS Excelsior college in progress. 6 classes to go
See my responses in red below:

Good Evening,

I came across your forum while browsing the net. There is a lot of great information here and I hope to contribute after I figure out some things, but i need some guidance.