Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Passed Bio CLEP
All - This is my first and only post to this forum, but I wanted to share the news that I passed the Bio CLEP test. I am a mid 30s adult student with a full time job, full time family, and what seems like several balls in the air at one time. I finished every component of my undergrad degree program with the exception of Bio Sciences. In lieu of paying ~$500 per credit to satisfy this, I elected to CLEP out of it. I did the same for Humanities about two years ago.

I scored a 59. While it was lower than I wanted, I found the exam to be extremely diverse and comprehensive. There were many questions that I had to make educated guesses because I had no friggin clue. The approach I did take was provide an answer regardless if I knew the correct one, and keep moving at a decent clip. I also marked the questions I didn't know with hopes that I may see a similar one later in the exam. The thing I kept in mind was to keep moving, you don't get any credit for a skipped question. One thing to be clear - some may consider CLEP a shortcut, but Bio was no joke, and there isn't a shortcut from a study/prep standpoint.

My study materials were the IC flashcards - Don't let the number of questions seem imposing, the test is somewhat imposing and you need to cover the material. The vocabulary and terminology is critical in the major areas - i.e. cells, DNA, replication, etc. I also bought the REA book and read it cover to cover. I would often run through the flashcards and keep the REA book on my lap - I'd look up the answer to the question if I didn't know it - helped me memorize and understand the material better. Don't get caught up on your score on the IC flashcards. Read the answers, just like they suggest.