Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie looking for the best option
Hi all,

First of all, HUGE thank you to the frequent contributors. This site is such a wealth of information.

My specific question is... I'm a gainfully employed professional who probably/maybe doesn't NEED a degree, but would like to check the box for future-proofing purposes. I'd like to do this as efficiently as possible, both with regards to finance and time.

I am employed by a US airline, and would prefer (but by no means even remotely require) a degree in the aviation realm.

I have 32 credits from Embry Riddle to include:

AS121 Private Pilot Ops (5)
ASC101 Aero Science Success (1)
BA201 Principles of Management (3)
FA121 Private Flight (1)
MA241 Calc I (4)
NSC101 Intro to Naval Science (2)
AS221 Instrument Pilot Ops (3)
HON250 Hon Seminar II (3) <-- humanities/global studies
MA242 Calc II (4) <-- awarded credit, but got a D Sad
NSC102 Seapower and Maritime Affairs (3)
WX201 Survey of Meteorology (3)

I have also completed an FAA Aircraft Dispatchers Certificate, which according to TESU is worth 17 credits when coupled with my part 121 training. These would be transcribed as:

AVF-344 (3)
AVF-345 (4)
AVF-361 (4)
AVF-362 (4)
AVF-381 (1)
AVT-306 (1)

Additionally, per TESU my private pilot certificate (worth 6 credits from ERAU, above) is worth 9 through TESU:

AVF-111 (3)
AVF-121 (3)
AVF-113 (3)

By my count, that makes 52 non-repeating credits (assuming 9 instead of 6 for the private).

So how do I transition those credits into a degree? My first choice was to use Embry Riddle Worldwide, which has a 30 credit residency requirement. Unfortunately, they only allow 15 credits by exam - and I would like to use that option as much as possible! They do allow up to 90 credits to be transferred from another school, but I don't know of a way to do that - I had thought credit banking would work - but thanks to the fantastic info on this forum, I see that's not true.