Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Diving in...but got major questions...(Fin Aid, Which School, Fees, etc)
I'm going to post a few questions today, and I hope they fall in the appropriate forums.

I finished an AT degree in Broadcast Technology. It's a trade school that just went from a 1 through 4 clock-hour grading system to a GPA-based, credit-hour, grading system in my last semester.

I want to work towards a BA in Communications - preferably with a Journalism or Media Major.

I haven't had anything near $75 to rub together to apply in the last few weeks to any of the "Big Three" here, but it looks like I will soon. I know I am still eligible for Pell, but for some reason I didn't receive a second-year loan from Sallie Mae which left me and my son in a dire situation. We got through it, but I don't want to experience that again.

What I am looking for is:

1. A school that will allow my BA in Communications - Journalism or Media Major to transfer into a school such as Gonzaga or UMissouri who have online masters programs in that field. Or USC's writing program...drool...

2. Fast and attentive Financial Aid. Who is best for disbursements? How did you juggle your Pell and Loans? TESC is SO expensive immediately - but they seem to have the most of what I want and have to offer them to get a BA.

3. Accepts life-learning or a resume and reel. (Optional...I know it's a long-shot)

4. CLEP friendly - which seems to be universal with the three...but now and then I read something that says otherwise.

5. Doesn't charge massive fees for CLEP, graduation, or out-of-state.

6. I've utterly broke for a while, but I want to get this thing rolling. What are the immediate out-of pocket expenses you've paid before even starting one class or test? I'm not military, so I cannot get an application fee waiver...but if you have tips on waivers and getting some free shwag from a school that really wants you, what did you do?