Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Degree for Breaking into Tech and Further Study Options
Sad 
Your Location: Middle East
Your Age: 27
What kind of degree do you want?: bachelor’s degree in CS/SWE. Ultimately I want to get an on-campus master's degree in the US/Canada or OMSCS from GaTech.
Current Regional Accredited Credits:
I have a 4 year undergraduate Law degree in my home country. I don't know if it is relevant. 
Current ACE, CLEP, or NCCRS Credits: None
Any certifications or military experience? None
Budget: $15.000
Commitments: I work full-time as a lawyer, living in my mom's basement, not married.
Dedicated time to study: at least 3 hours each day on weekdays and at least 4 hours on weekends.
Timeline: I want to finish the degree in 2 years. 
Tuition assistance/reimbursement: None

Hello everyone
I am glad I stumbled upon this supportive community. I wish I had known about it years ago. I have been literally wasting my years compulsively searching for degree programs and postponing my dreams.

My case is really complicated and a little different. 
I am planning a career change. I want to become a software engineer and go abroad.
I have zero background and near zero knowledge in the CS area right now so I am not looking for a degree purely to hack it. 
I am starting my self-learning journey soon and looking for a program that can be completed in 2-2.5 years, providing guidance, structure, and supplementary materials along the way. Keeping the motivation and discipline up and learning the right things at the right time is very challenging without a proper degree program. 
I hope to attend an on-campus master's degree program in the US/Canada after bachelor's degree. 

OSU post-bacc program that takes 2 years to complete seemed like the perfect program for me with its great teaching, support and community but it costs $35k (around $25k with maximum transferred credits). When I add the cost of the master's program, the total amount becomes astronomical.