Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bachelors Degree Planning Guidance
Hi All!  I've been reading through so many of these threads the last few days and I'm hoping for a little guidance.  If this is the wrong area, please feel free to move it! 
Essentially, the goal is law school, but unless I want to go to California, I need a bachelor's first.  I'm a pretty accomplished HR-Tech Manager currently, so it seemed like TAMUC's new HRDev degree would be a good choice, but when I found LawShelf, I was enamored.  All of those classes would be amazing to take.  That said, I know most institutions don't accept the NCCRS credits as readily anymore. I got a little overwhelmed trying to consume all of this information after reading through the Wiki, and would appreciate any guidance.

Your Location: Denver
Your Age: 35
What kind of degree do you want?: Bachelors
Current Regional Accredited Credits: None
Current ACE, CLEP, or NCCRS Credits: None
Any certifications or military experience?: No
Commitments: I have a fulltime day job, but have flexibility being remote. No spouse or kids.
Budget: Ideally less than 10k, but flexible.
Dedicated time to study: 2-3 hrs per day, sometimes more.
Timeline: A year would be ideal, but I want to stay realistic. 
Tuition assistance/reimbursement: Unfortunately not.
Welcome to the board, I didn't know Denver had intergalactic-yam! And I love sweet potato fries! Anyways, LawShelf has a degree partnership with DEAC (NA) Crestpoint U, they're somewhat expensive, so I would design my own degree plan instead by following their degree plan requirements!

This is how I would do things! Get a degree from TAMUC, TESU, or UMPI that allows a max of electives, in fact, take 90+ credits from Sophia.org with their 4 month plan if you need to. Then spend X amount of time getting the classes you want from LawShelf, like the 10 they have in the example degree.

90 credits from Sophia.org in 4 months = $299, 30 credits from LawShelft.com = $300