Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Amount of studying everyone does?
Hey everyone...!!

I was just wondering how much studying time everyone puts in for the Harder and Easier clep/dantes exams?

I'm taking substance abuse dantes which is an easier one and have been studying for 2 weeks. I have been studying for humanities for at least 1 month now and I still don't feel comfortable with it.

I know someone who takes one test every week and I find it absolutely shocking!!
It depends on the subject. Last October I CLEPed out of 24 credits. I usually study about 1-2 weeks per subject. I read a lot, so I do have a good foundation to start with. A&I Lit, Intro to Computing and HG&Development I studied about 2 hours each. It just depends on your strength. I've taken 2 tests on the same day when the subjects seemed to be similar.

Humanities took me about a month. I ended up making a huge poster with the different composers, artist, architects etc. separated by time period. It was my first test and I was really nervous. As you take more tests it gets easier to gauge your readiness.

Good luck on your tests! I'm sure you'll do fine.

(If you haven't taken a Peterson's test you might want to...they are a great readiness indicator. If you can get 50% right or more then you are ready for the CLEP. Peterson's is always much harder than the real thing)
~Autumn

Master of Arts - Emergency and Disaster Management - Estimated Completion 2014
Bachelor of Science Human Services in Emergency Disaster Services - TESC- December 2009
Culinary Arts Certificate - Boise State University 2002

Education teaches a man to spell experience.Big Grin
Thank you so much for replying with such helpful tips!! Glad to know I'm pretty much on the right path, I hear humanities is the hardest test of them all, I think I'll wait on that one. I really like the poster board idea-smart.

thanks,
Marissa