Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Are there any high school teachers here?
I have been teaching community college for 12 years and I have been offered a job at a local high school that is 5 minutes from my house vs the 45 minutes I now drive and it would be the same school my daughter will start attending next year. While I love teaching at a community college, it has been a hard year with lots of students just coming to class to collect a check without any desire to learn. I feel like it would be nice to inspire young minds that want to learn for a change!

My question for those who teach high school how bad are the kids? I have 2 teeenagers at home, but they are very good kids compared to a lot of them around here. I wouldn't tolerate disrespect for anyone or from anyone in my class and I'm worried about that being a problem. I live in a small rural town and a lot of our teachers are transient just coming here long enough to get experience for their resume then they leave. A lot of the teachers say most of these kids can't be taught and are horrible. Is that a burned out teacher talking or are they that bad? I'm a no-nonsense, tell it like it is person and I'm afraid I might not be a good mix for teenagers.

I'm finishing up grad school with the original intention to start teaching some DL classes for some Universities, but now I've hit this funk. I'm not sure if it is just overload and I should just stick it out where I am or if I truly am ready for a change. I keep thinking about the teachers that inspired me in school and I can't help but think I would like to inspire some of the young minds that will be responsible for our future! Is this unrealistic in today's classroom? Maybe I should just get some Prozac or take a vacation and have a few drinks and this too shall pass! LOL! For those of you in the classrooms everyday, help me out...please!
Completed 2/09 - 5/13

RHIA Post-Bac Cert - Stephens - 5/13
MHA - Bellevue Univ - 3/12
BSHS - Excelsior 12/10