Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
How Much Does Your Bachelor's Major Matter if You Have a Master's - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Main Category (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Main-Category)
+--- Forum: General Education-Related Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-General-Education-Related-Discussion)
+--- Thread: How Much Does Your Bachelor's Major Matter if You Have a Master's (/Thread-How-Much-Does-Your-Bachelor-s-Major-Matter-if-You-Have-a-Master-s)

Pages: 1 2

How Much Does Your Bachelor's Major Matter if You Have a Master's - UptonSinclair - 09-24-2013

I am at a crossroads and would like some input from the DegreeForum community. I am currently an Excelsior student in the BS Technology program. Once I have my Bachelor's, I plan to the Master's of Professional Studies - Computer Networking degree at Fort Hays. I can complete a BSL-CIS at Exclesior a year earlier and much cheaper than the BST-Computer Technologies. I just don't know how much of a difference it would make to future employers.

Any thoughts?

How Much Does Your Bachelor's Major Matter if You Have a Master's - Daithi - 09-25-2013

I've been a software developer for 25+ years. I started working as a programmer/analyst in the Army and never had a degree. Over the years I've interviewed for jobs and interviewed candidates for jobs. In my experience, your degree doesn't really matter that much in the computer industry. Your experience is what really matters.

For the most part, a degree is just a checkoff box. If you don't have one it might prevent you from even getting an interview, but once you get the interview, I doubt your degree will even come up -- unless you're applying for an entry level position and have zero experience. The two degrees that you described sound so similar that I really can't see that it would matter which one you decide on.