Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion
Need college suggestions! - Printable Version

+- Online Degrees and CLEP and DSST Exam Prep Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb)
+-- Forum: Main Category (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-Main-Category)
+--- Forum: General Education-Related Discussion (https://www.degreeforum.net/mybb/Forum-General-Education-Related-Discussion)
+--- Thread: Need college suggestions! (/Thread-Need-college-suggestions)

Pages: 1 2 3

Need college suggestions! - cookderosa - 10-30-2011

I'm thinking out loud, and looking for ideas, so feel free to bounce suggestions at me. My son is still considering a military career upon high school graduation (he's a junior) but he does sometimes get wishy-washy, and I really (really) want him to focus on credit earning between now and then. I also am a type-A plan for all things mom. <cough>

I'm an old pro at the schools we talk about here, but what's going on in my mind is to find a state/public school that has dorms. If I can run him up into 30- 60-90 credits before he's done with high school, he can either head to the military or finish his degree. If he opts to finish his degree, I'd like him to get up into the 90 cr range and then head to the dorms for 1 year of "college" and he'd be done. I feel that this would give him the shared "experience" his peers are having (and let's not even go there, I know full well what it is/isn't) as well as saving tons of money using what I've learned here tempered with a good dose of online / butt in seat.

This brings me to a different kind of search. I'm going to try and build a good list of 2-3 schools (4 year only) that have amazing CLEP policy (going for 30cr.), possible ACE acceptance (to use ALEKS maths), and offer online options, and allow him to enroll as a special student without a high school degree. I'm not going to factor in cost just yet, because I think that will come later when the list is made.