Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Noob Question: MOOCS, etc
Hello guys. I mentioned before I have a B&M AA (journalism). Now I'm studying for the Civil War DSST.

My question: I'm curious about the usefulness of MOOCs et al for a degree. Is there any way to get credit? Through PLAs? I'm taking a MOOC in Human and Sex Trafficking from Moody and curious about the constitution class from Hillsdale... Can these help me in any way other than personal?
Thanks!

A
AmeliaC Wrote:Hello guys. I mentioned before I have a B&M AA (journalism). Now I'm studying for the Civil War DSST.

My question: I'm curious about the usefulness of MOOCs et al for a degree. Is there any way to get credit? Through PLAs? I'm taking a MOOC in Human and Sex Trafficking from Moody and curious about the constitution class from Hillsdale... Can these help me in any way other than personal?
Thanks!

A

MOOCS can help you develop a PLA portfolio. This article touches on that and you will note the remarks from Learning Counts. They are equipped to handle it and I'm actually planning to complete a few PLAs that way. It's really not much different than completing a portfolio based on training acquired in the format of another class. I have taken free online classes and workshops elsewhere and used that training and the assignments to develop portfolios. However, you will need to match your learning with the course outcomes of a class at a regionally accredited college (if Moody and Hillsdale aren't).
Associate in Arts - Thomas Edison State University
Bachelor of Arts in Humanities - Thomas Edison State University
pursuing Master's degree, Applied Linguistics - Universidad Antonio de Nebrija

*credit sources: Patten University, Straighterline, Learning Counts, The Institutes, Torah College Credits, Kaplan Open College, UMUC, Thomas Edison State University (guided study liberal arts capstone)