Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Which certification would you recommend for someone new to cybersecurity?
I'm new to the field of cybersecurity and seeking guidance on which certification would be best to start with. Additionally, I'm interested in understanding the reasoning behind your recommendations.
If you're new to cybersecurity, then your first step should be obtaining the CompTIA IT Fundamentals (ITF+) certification. This certification provides you with basic IT concepts and foundational knowledge essential for any advanced cybersecurity certification. Following that, you can pursue the CompTIA Security+ certification, which covers specific cybersecurity skills and knowledge and is widely recognized in the industry. To prepare effectively for these certifications' exams, utilizing CompTIA practice tests designed by [various companies] is an excellent option. These practice tests by [those companies] familiarize you with the exam pattern and question types, helping assess your knowledge.
Interesting, you create two accounts to answer your own question, just to spam the company name for practice exams. Otherwise, the answer is pretty much consistent with what we would recommend - building or practicing on previous knowledge, trying out different exams provided by various companies, there are online options, and if you want a book or more at the library, that would help as well. Do your due diligence and research, then review content you want to ladder or stack, such as A+, Network+, Security+, etc. I would start with the freebies from Coursera/TEEX/EdX, and ladder your way up...
Study.com Offer https://bit.ly/3ObjnoU
In Progress: UMPI BAS & MAOL | TESU BA Biology & Computer Science
Graduate Certificate: ASU Global Management & Entrepreneurship

Completed: TESU ASNSM Biology, BSBA (ACBSP Accredited 2017)
Universidad Isabel I: ENEB MBA, Big Data & BI, Digital Marketing & E-Commerce