Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just starting and new to this, a few questions for ya!
So im pretty new to this but have been giving it A LOT of thought, im looking to start this after my current semester of school is over, my reasons being that i just cant find enough time in the day to get everything done and school is taking up too much time, not to mention how much its costing me.

So my current goal is to obtain my AS degree from a community college. The community college im graduating from says they honor up to 30 units of CLEP tests. I have a handful of general ed classes to finish and im hoping i can mind the majority through CLEP.

So here is a list of questions if you don't mind answering;

1)Very basic question, how does this work? Would my college counselor help me set this up?

2)Whats the difference between CLEP and Dantes, besides the time and # of answers for multiple choice? From my own research it would seem Dantes is mainly for BA/BS schools.

3)Is there an Official Website for the CLEP tests? im finding a lot of different ones..

4)Whats are some advantages of doing CLEP tests rather than regular schooling? Also, Whats the difference between getting 3 units from CLEP for a course, and getting 3 units and a grade from a school? How does this affect my degree and or transfer?

5)Where would you recommend getting study guides from? Flashcards from here? or Study guides/ Practice tests from other sites?

6)Whats the average price per course including test and study guide?

7)And lastly i think.. Whats the average amount of time per course some of you spent studying/preparing?

8)Oh one more, whats the deal with the other tests i see people talk about.. eve? excelsior? tecep? tesc?

I know there's a lot of questions i have, but i appreciate any answers and help.

Thank you!
Welcome to the forums!

seanmathews Wrote:So here is a list of questions if you don't mind answering;