Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help for a New Guy (Degree Planning)
Hi All,

Brand new member referred to you guys by the folks over at techexams.net. Backstory first...

I'm 36 and just moved to Louisiana about 7 months ago. I have been an IT Consultant for the past 5 years specializing in Microsoft Messaging Architecture. I make a pretty decent living and the move to Louisiana from New Jersey definitely helped with the much lower cost of living. I've decided that it's finally time to get my degree.

Like a lot of us, I went to college right after High School. Difference is I was only 16 at the time. Got burned out very quickly and came home after 2 semesters where I didn't do very well. Went to DeVry Online for a semester about 13 years ago for a semester as well. Don't really have that many credits to transfer so I am basically starting from scratch. I am debating on whether I should get a degree in IT (WGU, etc...) or a degree in History. IT is what I am great at but history is what I love. Having worked for almost 18 years in IT I am getting kind of burned out so I am leaning more towards History. Figure it would be easier and more fun to get a degree in something I love. Plus I have always had an interest in teaching. Might want to keep working IT for a couple of years, save some money, and then start teaching when it is more financially viable for me.