Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Excelsior College - Am I done yet?
Hello! Long time listener, first time caller... looking for some help completing my final requirements in a timely manner.

I've been working on my college degree for (gasp) almost 20 years now. And by that, I mean I worked on it for about a year here and there, and not continuously, nor at the same colleges. I'm now active duty military and need to just knock this out.

After shopping around, I enrolled at Excelsior College because they seemed to accept the most amount of credits based on my unofficial credit review.

After taking into account all my transfer credits, CLEP, DSST, and military professional credits, I now have an official credit evaluation from Excelsior (along with a SOC agreement) that is showing all I need to complete for my Bachelors are the following:

2cr - Ethics
6cr - Written English
1cr - Social Science/History
3cr - Math
3cr - CAPSTONE
-----
15cr

I believe I can meet at least six of these credits via credit-by-exam, but I'd also really like to NOT take an English class right now!

I am confident that I can meet the Ethics req via DSST Business Ethics exam and CLEP out of Math (I'm open to advice on which; it's 20 years since my last math class, but I should just need a little Algebra formula review).

I am perplexed by Excelsior's 6 credit requirement for English/Writing, and seeming rejection of the CLEP English exams. I thought I could take Analyzing & Interpreting Literature to satisfy one of these, but since they are asking for "written" English, I presume they want proof you can actually write.