Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do you feel like you're sacrificing something?
Some background-- I'm nineteen years old, currently finished 85 / 120 credits for my BA in English. I've been writing and performing comedy professionally for about two years now, and want to make a career in that line.

My question is ... Whenever I talk to friends who are going through the "traditional college experience" (living in dorms/shareds, physically going to class, etc.) they ask if I feel left out.

I don't, but I'm wondering if anyone else has thoughts on this?

I did go to a B&M school for a time, but became extremely frustrated with the slow pace of classes. It also interrupted some career goals. My parents did not save a dime for my education, and if I'm going to pursue a degree at all, it needs to be in the most economical (time- and money-wise) way possible, while also giving me the opportunity to pursue my dreams full-force while I still have the energy.

Right now, I'm using PLA's to get credit for my writing, performance work, etc. I feel great that I get to do exactly what I want, without sticking to the outlines of a certain "course."

Any thoughts?

I'm especially interested in hearing from people going the "testing out" or "Big 3" route in order to accomodate what I like to call my "dream schedule." Smile

Thank you also for all the help I've received on here so far. I hope I'm able to re-give it.