Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
AMU/APU Masters
Hi there again,

After a one-year hiatus from education I'm thinking about working on my Masters. Funny thing is that after finishing my BA I wanted to take a year to write a novel or something. Almost 12 months later and I wrote 3 pages!! a full 1560 words story! But I did play a lot of video games...

Well now that I've proven to be really good at procrastinating I'm ready to go back to get a degree. My BA is in communications from TESC. I'm interested in AMU's MS Information technology with a concentration in Enterprise Software Development. I have over 12 years of experience in IT and 4 in development so I really think this Masters suits me fine.

For all of you out there working on a Master's with AMU/APU, what are your opinions about the program?
It may be hard to find someone specifically in this program but from what I've heard of AMU/APU reviews are mostly positive. Conflicts are had with the occasional lazy/opinionated professor but that can happen anywhere. The only concern I would have is if you are wanting to stay on the tech side or move into management. If management is your focus, you may want to look more at a degree with a business concentration. Whatever you decide, good luck!
I m edumakated thanx to distunce lerning.

MEd, Texas A&M University, 2018
MBA, University of North Dakota, 2014
MS, University of Illinois Springfield, 2010
BSBA, Thomas Edison State University, 2008
AS / AAS, Tidewater Community College, 2004
Yep I've been thinking about the MBA a lot too. I've been very fortunate that I'm in a manager's position making a good salary without having any kind of Masters degree. I know the MBA will help me secure my current position or move on to a different company on a similar position. The problem is that I enjoy the tech side of things way more than the project management/business side. To me there's true joy in coding.