Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UMPI Degree Plan BABA – Management & Leadership w/ 2 minors
I’ve been reading through this forum for a few weeks now, and it’s helped me piece together the plan that I have so far.  Everyone here seems incredibly helpful, so thank you for all of the help you provide with your posts.

I’ve got my details here, thank you in advance!

Your Location: Philadelphia, PA
Your Age: 38
What kind of degree do you want?: Business degree with a potential minor in education – I’m a manager of training and development department in a healthcare company.
Current Regional Accredited Credits: None
Budget: $15k  
Commitments: Work FT job during the week. 
Dedicated time to study: I’m usually free to do school related things for about 4-5hrs a day after work and maybe 12 hours on the weekend.  I do want to save some weekend time for relaxing and not working.
Timeline: Finishing the courses required for the degree as fast as possible would be ideal.  I would like to finish within a year.
Tuition assistance/reimbursement: Yes, my workplace will give me $3k per year, and of the two schools I’ve considered has an agreement with WGU for a 5% discount, but nothing with UMPI.
Any certifications or military experience? No military experience.
I was a volunteer EMT with my local fire department, but I stopped 2 years ago.  I was certified through NREMT.
I’ve got a few certifications from the Association for Talent Development for Instructional Design, Change Management, and Master Trainer.

I’ve been looking at WGU and UMPI as the idea of a competency based program seems appealing to me.  I’m most interested in UMPI because:
1 – I don’t enjoy taking proctored tests and my office setup where my desktop (not a laptop) could be problematic with WGU.  I’ve got multiple monitors and my work laptop on the desktop.  I could be wrong though.
2 – I have to give presentations and write a fair amount in my day job, so this part of UMPI does not intimidate me.