Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New here, never taken CLEP or other exams before
Hey guys, So I'm graduating in the Spring with my associate degree in accounting from a local community college. I'm planning on transferring to Thomas Edison State College to pursue a bachelors degree in accounting (I'm hoping they will accept all of my credits).

So, I've never taken CLEP or similar exams before, and have never even heard of them until a few days ago. And because you guys seem pretty experienced with them, I had a few beginners questions (I checked some of the threads on this board but was just looking for extra input from members here).

1. Is it realistic to think that I can take a CLEP exam for a course that I have no prior knowledge of? After a bit of study of course. Like for example, lets say I want to take the CLEP exam for macroeconomics, yet I know nothing about macroeconomics. Is it possible that I could just study for about a week and then take the test and pass? I know anything is possible but is it realistic? Is this what most people do?

2. How much study time does it take to gain enough knowledge to pass a CLEP exam? I know this will depend on a lot of variables such as prior knowledge, study efficiency, which exam etc. but what would you guys say in general? is studying a few hours a day for a week or so enough study time?

3. What do you guys think of REA's CLEP prep guides? Such as the one right here:

http://www.amazon.com/Best-Principles-Ma...0738603074