Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fastest/cheapest second bachelor’s degree
Good evening all! This forum is a wealth of knowledge, but after reading every post about a second bachelor’s degree I can find, I need some advice from you experts with my particular situation in mind. 

I’m trying to commission in the military as active duty enlisted. I’m looking for the fastest route that will yield me the best GPA. One of the deciding factors for commission is the undergraduate GPA. They consider master’s degrees, but the undergrad degree is a major requirement so it holds more weight.

I have a bachelors of science in biology from a major state university conferred in 2011 with a 2.6 GPA (not competitive).

While in the military I completed:
- a CCAF AA degree in intelligence studies (2019)
- a Defense language institute AA degree in afghan Pashto (2016, 3.2 GPA)
- a Defense language institute AA degree in Modern Standard Arabic (2021, 3.4 GPA)
- 36 LL credits through CLEP/DSST

Things to note: I do not have access to military tuition assistance because I already have a bachelors degree, however, a ton of schools, including the big 3, cap out my tuition cost at $250 per credit hour as active duty.

I am assuming most programs would require me to complete a certain number of upper level requirements, so for reference 15 credits from each language degree are typically considered upper level with 8 being language related and 7 being humanities related, for a total of 30 upper level credit hours related to those language degrees. I can also take any CLEP or DSST test for free that may contribute as an upper level credit and lower my costs.

If you know of any programs that would yield a high GPA (provided I ace the required courses) on a short timeframe, it would really help me out.